Hello world! Welcome to the Nature Notes Blog

Welcome to the brand new Nature Notes Blog. Over the past few years, I have been fortunate to read many wonderful blogs that detail the physical and intellectual journeys of some really good naturalists. They are always interesting, and inspire me to dig deeper into the natural world. I was always impressed with the many ways these people see the world around them and how it seems to affect them…usually very positively. Today, I revisited the blog of a scientist/naturalist with quite a diverse background-Seabrooke Leckie. <– click the link to see her blog.

Reading her thoughtful and thought provoking blog caused me to think that while my website (www.njnaturenotes.com) might serve as a quasi-blog, it really doesn’t present the proper platform to allow for delving more deeply or personally into nature and science, and how it appears to (and inspires) me. Therefore, this blog.

Are naturalists really more optimistic about things? Are we happier? Do we see the world differently or do we just have many more outlets for enjoying the world around us? OK, this is rhetorical but it’s a valid question.

To me, I’m a fairly happy person, not just content or easy-going. But I must have my ‘green’ fix to stay this way. I am one of those who can travel into the city ( I do enjoy Broadway shows and the museums) but always look for the flowers and trees, and, whenever available, other aspects of nature that is not often evident when strolling around the city’s streets. When these things are unavailable, I do feel a sort of ‘nature withdrawal’ and crave being in a green environment. I’ll bet others feel this, too.

This past Spring, while accompanying my niece’s family in Manhattan (an uncle and great-uncle’s privilege), I seemed to be the only person (at least from what I could see), of thousands at a large street fair, who looked up to notice a Peregrine Falcon letting the winds take it easily above the skyscrapers. Weeks later, when in Bryant Park, I found an Ovenbird hunting for food among the large flower pots around the restaurant on the East side of the park. One fairly recent evening, I took note of the many flower baskets that now adorn streetlight posts, and smiled at watching the water trucks stopping at each basket to allow a person, who stands at the back of the truck with a long wand, water each one. Apparently they’ve done a really good job as the flowers lasted the summer and look really great. Is this just a concession to make the city look prettier, or is there something more primal here. Do many who seem to shun the natural world really have a deep-seated need to have nature around them after all? Perhaps so. But if not, why then do so many terraces, roofs and penthouses have nicely landscaped additions? I doubt it is solely for the aesthetics. Some seem to go to the extreme to live in the city but still may have the need for some aspect of ‘country and nature’ in their lives. They might not be able to ‘rough it’, but flowers and shrubs may satisfy that primal need for nature.

Maybe I’ve gone on too long about this but I think there is something to it. What do you think? You’re welcome to post a comment or question. Maybe you’ll start a new line of thought here. That would be great, too! Keep the thoughtful conversation going.

Thanks for visiting. I’ll try to post as often as I am able.

Rich

About rwolfert1

I am a retired Science and Computer Teacher (8 1/2 years at this point), who had the great fortune of developing a passion for all things nature, science and creative at an early age. Birds, space and astronomy, butterflies and moths, dragon- and damselflies, wildflowers, writing, photography, painting and sketching, gardening and carpentry are all on my list of interests. If it’s creative or has to do with nature in almost any aspect, I usually like it and want (sometimes need) to learn more. While my website is far more objective, this blog is my considerably more subjective outlet and allows for combining these interests in a most satisfying way. Additionally, for 11 years, I lectured extensively on Space and Astronomy for several units of the National Park Service, and for regional several environmental centers. My wife is incredibly understanding of my love of (and need for) nature, as well as my need to know things, but has learned to never ask “What’s that?”. She knows the problem is that I will starting digging into whatever initiated the question. (That’s how I got into birding in December of 1978.)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Hello world! Welcome to the Nature Notes Blog

  1. Mr WordPress says:

    Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

Leave a Reply

